Sid Garrett

On behalf of the Cherokee County Sports Hall of Fame Board of Directors I want to personally thank you for visiting our online home!

In 2005 the CCSHOF was established as a non-profit organization to seek out and recognize individuals or entities that have demonstrated a commitment to athletics or provided strong support of athletics in Cherokee County, Alabama. We take pride in the fact that we have continued to garner strong support since that time while working with citizens from all corners of this great county.

Through the efforts and assistance of our schools, boosters clubs, and supporters of athletics across the county, we have been able to identify and recognize some of the legendary athletes that have set the standards our young people today aspire to achieve.   Make sure to stop in and view the plaques of these extraordinary individuals on display at the Gadsden State Community College – Cherokee Arena.

We’ve also been blessed to have significant assistance from many local organizations. Several in particular have helped advance the interest of the CCSHOF and deserve special note including the Cherokee County Commission, Cherokee County Chamber of Commerce, Gadsden State Community College – Cherokee, Cherokee County Historical Museum, Cherokee County Herald, The Post, and WEIS radio.


Sid Garrett, President